Upcoming- James River Softball Season

By Cameron Hildebrand

The James River softball team is starting up their season. Since tryouts are not for another three weeks, they have been hard at work at open-gyms almost twice a week.

The rest of the open gym schedule consists of:

  • Tuesday, February 5th

  • Thursday, February 7th

  • Tuesday, February 12th

  • Thursday, February 14th

Tryouts begin on:

  • February 19th and last until the 21st, from 4-6 p.m.

Anyone with a physical and concussion meeting is welcome! The Knights are looking forward to a successful season. Their stats from last year were pretty impressive. The team had several members make the All-State, All-Region, and All-District teams. The teams with James River’s softball team members are underlined.

The All-State of 2018 is below. This team is selected by a group of coaches within the state of Virginia.

First Team:

P- Sabrina Foltz- Page Co.- Junior

P- Logyn Estes- Madison Co.- Junior

P- Mac Osborne- Richlands- Sophomore

C- Autumn Bailey- East Rockingham- Junior

1B- McKenna Falwell- Nottoway- Junior

2B- Hannah Johnson- Madison Co.- Soph.

3B- Chelsea Trenary- Clarke Co.- Senior

SS- Abigail Barber- Maggie Walker- Senior

DP/Flex- Jenna Wade- Union- Senior

OF- Kaitlyn Rather- Amelia Co.- Senior

OF- Brooklynn Fridley- Page Co.- Junior

OF- Cameron Hildebrand- James River- Jun.

OF- Madison Varney- Lebanon- Junior

UTL- Sydney Bailey- John Battle- Senior

Player of the Year- Mac Osborne- Richlands

Coach of the Year- Alan Knight- Page Co.

Second Team:

P- Jenna Evans- King William

P- Kaleigh Hackett- Appomattox Co.

P- Morgan Hamm- Lebanon

C- McKenzie Reams- Goochland

1B- Emily Gormus- Buckingham Co.

2B- Leah Caldwell- Appomattox Co.

3B- Tatum Dye- Lebanon

SS- Denisha Megginson- Appomattox Co.

DP/Flex- Lydia Taylor- Glenvar

OF- Ryann Vermillion- Nottoway

OF- Mary Beth Strickler- Buffalo Gap

OF- Cortney Rawes- Appomattox Co.

OF- Raelyn McGarry- Nelson Co.

UTL- Lacey Lucado- James River

This is the Three Rivers All-District of 2018. This team is voted on within the coaches of James River’s district.

First Team:

Emily Cook- Carroll County- Senior

Abby Cox- Floyd County- Senior

Bailey Cox- Radford- Senior

Laken Crockett- Carroll County- Junior

Charli Dietz- Radford- Sophomore

Morgan Harris- Floyd County- Freshman

Cameron Hildebrand- James River- Junior

Lacey Lucado- James River- Freshman

Lakota Lucado- James River- Sophomore

Maddie Martinez- Glenvar- Freshman

Lydia Taylor- Glenvar- Freshman

Katherine Ward- Glenvar- Junior

Amy Whitlow- Floyd County- Sophomore

Olivia Yates- Floyd County- Freshman

Player of the Year- Olivia Yates- Floyd County

Coach of the Year- Scott Thompson- Floyd County

Second Team:

Olivia Adams- Glenvar- Sophomore

Kerri Beyer- Alleghany- Sophomore

Sara Faust- James River- Senior

Allison Graham- Alleghany- Junior

Alana Hodge- Radford- Senior

Scarlet Janey- Giles- Sophomore

Bailee Leitch- Alleghany- Junior

Alex Meredith- Carroll County- Senior

Makayla McGuire- Giles- Junior

Savannah Perkins- Giles- Senior

Courtney Raines- Glenvar- Freshman

Kailey Reed- Radford- Freshman

Maisie Rodgers- Radford- Freshman

Kaitlin Simmons- James River- Senior

Honorable Mention:

Trinity Adams- Radford

Gracie Conner- Alleghany

Tiohna Eades- Radford

Deborah Eads- Giles

Chloe Easter- Carroll County

Josey Lackey- James River

Katie McKenzie- Carroll County

Evie Melvin- James River

Erin Peery- James River

McKenzie Pulliam- Glenvar

Lexie Rader- Radford

Tiara Reed- Floyd County

MaKenna Shearer- Glenvar

Taylor Spangler- Carroll County

Hannah Westbrook- Giles

Makena Williams- Giles

The All-Region 2C 2018 is below. It is voted on by a group of coaches within the 2C region.

First Team:

P- Olivia Yates- Floyd County- Fresh.

P- Kaleigh Hackett- Appomattox- Soph.

P- Haley Drew- Appomattox- Senior

C- Maddie Driscoll- Appomattox- Junior

1B- Emily Gormus- Buckingham- Senior

2B- Leah Caldwell- Appomattox- Soph.

3B- Shaniya Johnson- Appomattox- Soph.

SS- Denisha Meggison- Appomattox- Senior

OF- Courtney Rawes- Appomattox- Junior

OF- Cameron Hildebrand- James River- Jun.

OF- Raelyn McGarry- Nelson County- Senior

OF- Bailee Cox- Radford- Senior

UTL- Lacey Lucado- James River- Freshman

DO/Flex- Lydia Taylor- Glenvar- Freshman

Player of the Year- Raelyn McGarry- Nelson County

Coach of the Year-Janet Rawes- Appomattox

Second Team:

P- Kaitlin Simmons- James River- Senior

P- Katie Thomas- Gretna- Junior

P- Leah Caldwell- Appomattox- Sophomore

C- Riley Nuckles- Dan River

1B- Evie Melvin- James River- Junior

2B- Amy Whitlow- Floyd County- Soph.

3B- Scarlett Janet- Giles- Sophomore

SS- Charli Dietz- Radford- Sophomore

OF- Abby Mann- Appomattox- Freshman

OF- Lakota Lucado- James River- Soph.

OF- Abby Cox- Floyd County- Senior

OF- Sara Faust- James River- Senior

UTL- McKenzie Harmon- Fort Chiswell

DO/Flex- MacKayla McGuire- Giles

The Knights ended their 2017-18 season with a record of 14-9 while winning nine of their last thirteen games. They also had the privilege to make it to the state tournament. The Knights have six seniors this season and are looking forward to being successful. These seniors include: Cameron Hildebrand #4, Josey Lackey #12, Anna Schroeder #16, Erin Peery #20, Alyson McCullough #25, and Evie Melvin #31.

The team is also looking for official sponsors this upcoming season and would love to announce your business at home games! Check out the form on the website.